Embed from Getty Images

Sheriffs in a dozen counties across Washington have vowed to not enforce new legislation that places restrictions on ownership of semi-automatic rifles.

According to CBS News, sheriffs in 12 counties—Grant, Lincoln, Okanogan, Cowlitz, Douglas, Benton, Pacific, Stevens, Yakima, Wahkiakum, Mason and Klickitat—have said they will not enforce the new law until the courts rule on whether or not it is unconstitutional.

The National Rifle Association and the Second Amendment Foundation have filed a lawsuit in federal court—that suit remains pending.

"I swore an oath to defend our citizens and their constitutionally protected rights," Grant County Sheriff Tom Jones said. "I do not believe the popular vote overrules that."