CA Governor Signs Law Allowing Citizens to Refuse to Help Police

Governor Gavin Newsom on Tuesday signed into law a bill that would no longer require any "able-bodied person 18 years of age or older" in the state to help an officer who requests assistance during an arrest.

Embed from Getty Images

Governor Gavin Newsom on Tuesday signed into law a bill that would no longer require any "able-bodied person 18 years of age or older" in the state to help an officer who requests assistance during an arrest.

According to Fox News, the new law negates a law passed in 1872 called the California Posse Comitatus Act that made it a misdemeanor to refuse help to a police officer who requested assistance during an arrest.

The bill that Newsom signed removes that law from the books.

The California State Sheriff's Association said in a statement, "There are situations in which a peace officer might look to private persons for assistance in matters of emergency or risks to public safety and we are unconvinced that this statute should be repealed."

About the Author
Page 1 of 156
Next Page