Search Results

Best Match Date Posted
Close
Expand All
Results: 13
Driving the 2019 Dodge Durango Pursuit
What's New on the 2015 Tahoe PPV

What's New on the 2015 Tahoe PPV

The 2015 Tahoe PPV is Chevy's first pursuit-rated SUV to come with four-wheel drive. In addition, the exterior and interior have been redesigned, and the engine is now a 5.3-liter EcoTec3 V8 with standard direct injection, Active Fuel Management, and continuously variable valve timing.

June 30, 2015

Chevy Tahoe PPV: Redesigned and Ready for Duty

Chevy Tahoe PPV: Redesigned and Ready for Duty

Chevy's Tahoe patrol vehicle is fast and nimble, it corners well, and it has a good turning radius. It's also comfortable, offers a higher vantage point than a patrol sedan, and can carry a lot more gear than a car. So I couldn't wait to test and evalulate the new 2015 Tahoe PPV with four-wheel-drive.

June 30, 2015

Raging Bull

Raging Bull

Can the police version of the Taurus sustain Ford's domination of the patrol car market? What we can say now is that the NGPI is a fine-looking automobile with the sleek lines of a luxury sports sedan; it performs like a muscle car; and it was designed from the ground up for police duty.

April 8, 2010

Electric Enforcement

Electric Enforcement

What truly sets all of T3 Motion's vehicles apart is an innovative "power management system."

April 1, 2009

Chevy Tahoe: Large and In Charge

Chevy Tahoe: Large and In Charge

Contrary to some rumors, size does matter. This is just one of the many things the 2007 Chevy Tahoe has going for it. The Tahoe makes a strong impression. While test driving the PD-equipped model for this article, I had many people stop to take a long look and ask me questions about it.

May 1, 2007

2007 Chevy Tahoe PPV

It was my fault. I entered the hairpin curve way too fast, and the SUV I was driving went into a spin. But I had two things going for me that prevented the spin from being dangerous: I was in the 2007 Chevy Tahoe Police Package Vehicle and I was on a closed course at GM’s Scottsdale, Ariz., proving grounds.

January 1, 2007

Ready for Duty

Police vehicles serve many functions. They are symbols of law and order that help deter motorists from speeding and other people from committing serious offenses. They’re also rolling offices for sworn personnel, equipment haulers, and prisoner transportation systems. The list of all the tasks required of police vehicles could go on for a long time.

April 1, 2005

Street Survivors

While it’s outstanding to survive a crash, it’s even better to avoid one in the first place, and that’s where good training and situational awareness feature heavily. But carmakers and their design teams play a role in officer safety as well. Let’s take a look at what the Big 3 American police car manufacturers are doing to make their cars safer for the nation’s law enforcement personnel.

February 1, 2004

Performance Review--Road Testing the 2002 Cop Cars

Performance Review--Road Testing the 2002 Cop Cars

No one other than a patrol officer is better able to understand the vital role of a police vehicle in today's law enforcement. The wrong vehicle can affect officer morale, reduce efficiency and increase a department's operating costs appreciably.

February 2, 2002

2002 Police Vehicle Roundup

2002 Police Vehicle Roundup

In keeping up with the expansion of the category "police vehicles," we've widened our annual roundup to cover some of these newer "mobile offices" as well as the newer models of old patrol classics.

February 1, 2002

A Gem of a Police Cruiser

A Gem of a Police Cruiser

You'd never see it in a high-speed pursuit, and no SWAT team would ever consider it for storming a terrorist hideout, but some police departments are finding there's a place for a new and versatile electric vehicle - the GEM - in their fleets.

February 1, 2002

Chevy’s 'Ride And Drive’

Chevy’s 'Ride And Drive’

Chevy's "Ride and Drive" is an opportunity to introduce new technology (in this case, the new Impala police package) to writers and cops from around the country. I rubbed elbows with uniforms from many states and there were plenty of serious, squinty-eyed stares going on as the performance was duly noted in notebooks and on video.

October 1, 2001

a Bobit media brand

Create your free Bobit Connect account to bookmark content.

The secure and easy all-access connection to your content.
Bookmarked content can then be accessed anytime on all of your logged in devices!

Create Account